Malaysia GP: Verstappen wins over Hamilton

Max Verstappen wins in Malaysia and Red Bull gets its first double podium of the year. Lewis Hamilton salvaged second for a minor gain in his points lead as Sebastian Vettel stormed back to fourth after starting at the back of the grid. Kimi Raikkonen got a ride back to the pits before the lights went out with the intention to start from pit road, but never did.

Verstappen passed Hamilton on lap 4 and didn’t look back to give Red Bull back to back victories in Malaysia after Ricciardo took last year’s race when Hamilton lost an engine with a 20 second lead. Ricciardo passed Bottas on lap 9 with a fight to take third and would hold on to that position when the flag dropped.

Despite all the action on track, the only retirement was Carlos Sainz with engine issues. During the slowdown lap, Vettel and Lance Stroll came together which resulted in a severely damaged Ferrari for Vettel which could come back to haunt Ferrari if a gearbox change is required. Vettel would be staring down the barrel of a 5-place grid penalty in Japan if the gearbox change is needed.

1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer 56 1:30:01.290

2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 56 +12.770

3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer 56 +22.519

4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 56 +37.362

5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 56 +56.021

6 Sergio Pérez Force India-Mercedes 56 +1:18.630

7 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren-Honda 55 +1 lap

8 Lance Stroll Williams-Mercedes 55 +1 lap

9 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 55 +1 lap

10 Esteban Ocon Force India-Mercedes 55 +1 lap

11 Fernando Alonso McLaren-Honda 55 +1 lap

12 Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari 55 +1 lap

13 Romain Grosjean Haas-Ferrari 55 +1 lap

14 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 55 +1 lap

15 Jolyon Palmer Renault 55 +1 lap

16 Nico Hülkenberg Renault 55 +1 lap

17 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber-Ferrari 55 +1 lap

18 Marcus Ericsson Sauber-Ferrari 54 +2 laps

RET Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso

DNS Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari

About the author: f1merica